Drive over the acorns with a lawn and leaf vacuum hitched to a lawn tractor if you already have one for vacuuming leaves. Up Next: 5 Tips for Waxing the Garden Hose. I’m also going to dump a bunch of the acorns I vacuumed up into the wooded area of my yard in case deer or some other type animal wants to eat them this fall/winter. It primarily depends on the size of the tree that you have; if it’s not as big, you might want to consider laying a tarp down. I have a bachelor's degree in construction engineering. As usual, Puddin insisted on helping me install the fabric. Typically, acorns “fall” around fall—in boom and bust cycles—to help plant new trees and to provide a nutritious food source for a number of critters. So that’s one problem I’m going to have to work through. The conventional method of simply picking up the acorns and throwing them away is labor intensive and requires a considerable amount of time. I worry that the acorns might make her sick. You don’t want these seeds growing in your garden, because it’s only going to increase your work tenfold. After all, do you really want acorns strewn all over your yard? Heavy enough to pull some of the sheets right off of the step-in posts. Outside of family, I love grilling and barbequing on my Big Green Egg and working on projects around the house. Kidding! Oak trees grow in U.S. Department of Agriculture plant hardiness zones 3 through 10, but the exact zones vary with different species. You can lay down tarps all around the tree to catch the acorns falling on the ground. Puddin normally leaves things when I ask her to, but we are far from having an automatic leave-it. Also, a light breeze happened while I was installing the fabric and it easily twisted. Vacuum the acorns, using a wet-dry shop vacuum with a wide hose attachment, about 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 inches in diameter, depending on the acorn sizes. White oak (Quercus alba), for example, is hardy to USDA zones 3 through 9, while live oak (Quercus virginiana) is