As the Cowboys hit their stride in the late 1960s and early '70s, they had a dependable ground attack. Awkward mutterings: another reporter wrote that, and besides I’m just a freelancer and. It was official autograph day for the kids in the bleachers. Five exhibition seasons ago Staubach tried to run over a linebacker and separated his right shoulder—an injury that could have ended his career—but he was throwing again nine weeks after the operation. He shaved quickly, pinkie extended from his razor as if he were holding a wineglass. The partial dome of Texas Stadium opens to the sky like the slot of a giant piggy bank. As a new season began, Staubach was under diminished pressure on the field. I think he got tired of people not appreciating him. This kind of coldness often makes older players, like Staubach, think hard about their future. I like not having to listen to Tom Landry and Tex Schramm. Seattle, Seattle.” Staubach sighed. Csonka and Kiick powered the Dolphins to Super Bowl VI, but the elusive Morris usurped Kiick during Miami's perfect season. It’s who you hang around with, apparently. Perry's straight-ahead style blended with McElhenny's broken-field sojourns, and each earned All-Pro acclaim in 1953. Microsoft may earn an Affiliate Commission if you purchase something through recommended links in this article. In the Dallas locker room the most frenzied crowd of newsmen surrounded a young black man who bears a marked facial resemblance to comedian Flip Wilson. Can I do It? “You got anything to say?”, Staubach walked by with a towel around his waist and grunted when Sherrod said, “Good game, Roger.” He nodded at ex-roommate Lee Roy Jordan, who was visiting in the locker room after watching his first game in the stands as a retired player, then claimed a lavatory and mirror. He combed his wet hair back and put on a gold shirt and Sansabelt trousers. The strobe flashed. The Cowboys traded a first- and three second-round picks to the Seahawks to draft Dorsett